Saturday, 7 November 2009

Chairperson Waimakariri-Zonnebeke Trust in Passchendaele

Jo Kane, chairperson of the Waimakariri-Zonnebeke Trust is in Passchendaele since Friday 6 November to commemorate Armistice Day in Flanders together with her friends from the Passchendaele Society 1917. She stays until 12 November and will be hosted by the council members of Zonnebeke. Martin O' Connor, also Honorary Member since 2007 and New Zealander living in Belgium did a five hours trip to be with us. He's leaving Belgium for a trip back home next week and will help Jo to pack the exhibition in Fort Takapuna, North Shore City, Auckland.

On this picture, from left to right: Alderman Franky Bryon and Mayor Dirk Cardoen from Zonnebeke, chairperson Jo Kane, chairman Passchendaele Society 1917 Freddy Declerck, curator Memorial Museum Passchendaele 1917 Franky Bostyn, Michael St Maur Sheil and Rik Ryon, the two artists who made the exhibition "the Belgians have not Forgotten" possible.

Jo Kane has been appointed Honorary Member of the Passchendaele Society 1917 for the tremendous work she did for the exhibition in New Zealand. Without her help and that of the Waimakariri-Zonnebeke Trust this exhibition was obviously not possible.

On today there are only six honorary members, 2 New Zealanders, 1 British, 1 Scottish, 1 Australian and 1 Belgium. Roger Verbeke, the only Belgium Honorary Member was also appointed yesterday because he resigned as a full committee member and he was one of the founders of the Passchendaele Society 1917 Trust in 2004. Roger is an authority on World War I and is very famous for his knowledge in Flanders and abroad.

Photography by Peter Roets.

No comments:

Post a Comment